This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here we have the slideshow from the Swashbuckler Soiree I attended last Friday. I’m in a couple of them, running the Pirates of the Caribbean trivia contest, especially, and also standing side by side with my friend, Capt. Linda Gunn of the pirate ship “Fearless” that takes pirate tours around Baltimore Harbor. It’s a lot of fun!

Linda is wearing lady pirate garb, and I’m wearing my “Dona Pirata” outfit. You can pick me out in my bright blue pirate coat.

All in all, the Soiree went very well. Lots of nice folks there, and most of them seemed interested in The Price of Freedom.

The next day, Privateer Day, I’m afraid was pretty much of a bust. The whole DelMarVa area was hit with pounding rain and lashing wind with brief intervals of drizzle in between the squalls. I dutifully drove up to Baltimore, hoping that some of the activities scheduled would run, but no such luck. Fells Point had been expecting 5000 attendees…I doubt they got 500. It was a real shame.

But I discovered that I could get into my costume and wear it for five or six hours at a time, with no ill effects, so that will come in handy if I have to wear it again. (I certainly will don it for the Alt. History/Pirates Programming Track at Dragoncon.)

So enjoy the pictures!

I’ll be back later this week with a more serious writing post.

Later!

-Ann C. Crispin