I’m happy to report my signing at the Stories Comics and Regal Commonwealth IMAX and Stadium 20 Cinemas went well. I think we sold about 50 books or so. SFWA member Bud Webster and his wife Mary came over to keep me and the two booksellers from Stories Comics Uno company on Friday, and then it was just me and Cheryl Pryor on Saturday.

The signing itself was the most unusual I’ve ever done. Cheryl has promised me pictures, and I’ll post them when I get them. Regal publicity mogul Lee Milstead, the gent who invited me to come and sign had done the lobby of the theaters up to reflect the opening of POTC 4, “On Stranger Tides.” The big lobby was filled with mermaids sitting on styrofoam rocks, pirates, redcoats, parrots from Parrots of Paradise, a table filled with historical replicas from the Hampton Museum, and two museum docents, who gave little history lessons about things in their exhibit, Pam Kinney, an author who writes about real life ghost stories of Virginia, plus vendors selling comics and all kinds of POTC merchandise. And me, with The Price of Freedom.

Lee Milstead stomped around the lobby dressed as Blackbeard, and looked quite fearsome indeed! At one point the redcoats dragged him out to the lobby in chains. It was a hoot.

I met a lot of folks, encountered several FB “friends.” It was fun, though after 10 hours of signing books on Saturday, I was glad to pack it in and go back to my hotel room for a good night’s sleep.

I did an interview for SciFi4Me.com about writing The Price of Freedom, and you can listen to it here:
This afternoon, Michael and I will be taking the train up to NYC for my BEA signing. It’s tomorrow morning from 9:30 till 10:30 AM. I hope folks will show up wanting signed books!

And then, on Thursday, I’m leaving for Walt Disney World and my two signings there.

Then, on Saturday, May 28, I’ll hope to see some of my friends at the Balticon launch party for The Price of Freedom. It will be next Saturday at 6:00 PM at Balticon, which is being held at the Hunt Valley Marriott.

All of these events are described on my appearance calendar on my website.

Have a great week, folks!

-Ann C. Crispin