I’ve made my New Year’s Resolution, which is to try even harder to stay positive this year, as I enter a new round of chemo in a few weeks. I don’t mean positive as in “oh, I’ll be cured, and everything will be great, and I’ll win the Nebula Award.” I am too much a realist for that kind of unrealistic optimism. That would only crush me at some point.

No, I’ve decided to really savor the good days and good moments that come to me during the year. I’m grateful that the doctor has a new chemo drug to try, that has had some success. (You can bet she’s being very cautious with my dosage, and will check my blood a lot, after what happened with that other chemo drug — my idiosyncratic reaction to it that nearly wiped me out.)

I’m going to be grateful for my husband, and my family, and my friends. I’m very very lucky to have them. I come from a close-knit family, and it’s wonderful to have that support and love.

I’m also grateful for my pals on Facebook. You all cheer me on and entertain me.🙂

With all those things going for me, I am going to work harder at being positive and grateful for the blessings I have. The government can fall off a Fiscal Cliff, but I’m standing tall, and resolved to see the half-full glass of water instead of the half-empty one.

Here’s to a better 2013, despite the number, than 2012! Happy New Year, everyone!