It’s been kind of a hard week for me, as some of you may have guessed. I had that procedure on Wednesday that the docs hope will help this debilitating anemia that has kept me sub-par. The procedure was partially successful. They hope it will give me some relief, but I won’t know for sure until next Wednesday, when I’ll have my next blood test at the clinic.

I’ve been meaning to tell you about my Easter weekend. Our dear friends Steve and Mary came down to Southern Maryland for a visit. We went out to Red Hot and Blue for dinner on Friday night (Steve LOVES bbq!) and then sat in my living room and just caught up on all the stuff that’s happened. At one point Mocha wandered out and sat down at Steve’s feet and looked up at him expectantly. (He knows he’s beautiful and that it is his right to be adored!) Steve looked down at him and said, “How are you, you animated dust mop?” I laughed out loud.

On Saturday the four of us met Brenda and Larry for brunch at the Carlyle Grand Cafe over in Shirlington. I had the lobster bisque (which is superb) and the crabcakes benedict. Yum!

After brunch, we went to see the “real pirates” exhibition at the National Geographic Museum in DC. Steve was my nautical expert for Pirates of the Caribbean: The Price of Freedom, and, while we knew MOST of the stuff the exhibit showcased, even I learned a few things. The exhibit is a traveling one, and features recovered gear, cannons, treasure, etc. from “Black Sam” Bellamy’s ship, the Whydah. (Pronounced “Wee-dah.”) If you like pirates, watch for this exhibit!

We had dinner that night at Outback, where I had clam chowder. I was still full from brunch! On Sunday we bade goodbye to Steve and Mary, and then went back to the Outback near my mom’s house for a family Easter celebration. This time my appetite was just fine, and I had a small prime rib.

All in all, a fine Easter weekend!

http://press.nationalgeographic.com/2013/02/07/national-geographic-museum-to-host-real-pirates-exhibition/